2008 In Recap

I’m not going to say it’s been a while and that I am determined to make this blog a part of my life again; though really that’s true.  It’s not that I’ve avoided it or just got too busy doing other things.  Instead it’s more that I’ve questioned the basic premise that I started with: I’m an average guy.  As it turns out the answer is still yes, but even an average guy has amazing potential.  So, I’m back and this is going to be the main focus of my personal writing for the next year.  If you want to hear some of my thoughts on other subjects check out the links section and see if you can figure out which ones are me!  🙂

2008 was a huge year of transition for me.  I left/lost my job that I loved, but really feel like God is moving me in an important direction.  So, while there is some bitterness about that I feel like it’s all for the best.  I’m not traveling like I was and that’s good and bad (I think my wife would like just a little more travel!), but it has allowed me to connect with my family and friends in a way I haven’t been able to in a long time.

Last year I listed all the places I had been, but I haven’t been on an airplane since last May and haven’t been out of the country for almost a year so I won’t get into that.  Instead I’ll say that in the last year I’ve read 45 books, just short of my annual goal of 52.  The best fiction was The Great Gatsby and the best non-fiction Letter and Papers from Prison by Heinrich Boenhoeffer; very powerful!  (Not to say everything I read was this kind of book.  I also kept up on Robert B. Parker’s latest.)

I saw 75 movies. I had intended on finishing up the AFI top 100 movies of all time this year but I still have a ways to go.  I won’t say the best but reviewing the list for those you might have missed I’d say check out The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters.  It’s a must see!

That’s it for 2008.  Next, what does an average guy intend on accomplishing in 2009?

Leave a Reply

